Peace, Politics and Society

Nobel Peace Prize 2018 awarded to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad

The courage, compassion, and humanity they demonstrated in their daily fight deserve to win

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2018 to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.

Denis Mukwege is the helper who has devoted his life to defending victims of war-time sexual violence. The physician Denis Mukwege, who has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, has spent large parts of his adult life helping the victims of sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Dr. Mukwege and his staff have treated thousands of patients who have fallen victim to such assaults.

Fellow laureate Nadia Murad is the witness who tells of the abuses perpetrated against herself and others. She has shown uncommon courage in recounting her own sufferings and speaking up on behalf of other victims. The 25-year-old has also won several accolades including the EU’s prestigious Sakharov human rights prize in 2016 and the Council of Europe’s Václav Havel human rights prize.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post